atc’s

Standard

A21-web These are some of my recent ATC’s.  I attended a fundraiser recently working to raise funds and awareness of the The A21 campaign; a not-for-profit organisation working to help rescue girls as young as 8 that are kidnapped and kept as slaves to work the sex trade.  It is too terrible to accept that this is actually happening in plain sight in many communities and big cities.  The top card, ‘Hidden in Plain Sight’ is reflecting that – it has a big white number on the door – no one’s hiding – everyone knows what’s going on there.  But no one is doing anything about it.  The other cards – ‘I have no where to call home’; ‘I was full of dreams’ & ‘Flowers don’t cover the fear’ are all inspired by the stories of various girls.  

Not ALL of my art has been so ponderous & full of conviction……….After seeing the fabulous work of artist George Baldessin, at one of my most favourite inspirational places – a local gallery TarraWarra Art Museum………. . pears are back on the menu!  You may remember other expeditions in this topic here and hereBaldessin Pears
oh, and here, and here…………we’ll actually, I seem to revisit this every now and then it seems – and I was inspired to again……… 
 Poire 2 web smPoire web medalthough these are tiny little pieces of art, they were quite complex creations.  First, I collaged the atc sized chipboard with vintage papers.  Then I dry brushes acrylics over the background, & wiped it back when it was half dry.  This gives that ‘distressed’ half on/half off look that I love so much.  Then, starting with acrylics again, I painted in the main pear shapes, using Caran d’ache Neocolour II’s, H20’s, perfect pearls, wax & a little UTEE for texture.  As usual, they are richer in the flesh – but at least you get some idea.   

there have also been a few others of no particular consequence – just ‘doodling’ so to speak – a little birthday Cake-webtreat – a little Degas inspired dancing and a single gull……Dancers-webGull-web actually, I had fun with the gull – I used texture paste and built up colour over that.  It’s already been snapped up for a swap unfortunately, so I can’t share.

Leave a Reply

