WARNING TO ART JOURNALLERS

Standard

I know that heading is a little alarming – but it needs to be.  I help to moderate the fabulous mixed media yahoo group called Paper Traders & every year since our inception, we have had a Round Robin Journal Project & I have hosted the project for the last 3 years.  For the uninitiated, basically – 12 people (our limit) make a journal, decide on a topic, then send their journal of on a travelling adventure around the world.  The journals rotate monthly, and each artist makes a page in everyone's journal until they finally recieve their own back.  Each time we have done it, there have been glitches along the way & sadly, we have people who have not honoured their commitments and literally just not sent journals back to their owners – but what happened this last month has taken the cake!  This month it appears that a international, priority paid, tracked & insured parcel has been very carefully opened (SO CAREFULLY – I can't see how it's been done) and looked through the 3 journals & the other contents of the box – and decided to keep one of the journals and the extra bits & bobs sent to me by the previous artist – and carefully seal the IMG_0002_resizebox back up. 

The box left USA weighing 5lbs 8.5oz and arrived to me in Oz weighing barely 4lb.  Despite there being no signs what so ever of tampering, the box was crushed down one side where the journal and other things 'had been' and now the two remaining journals moved around in the box.  That's where the fun began – despite having all of the safeguards in place, no one could tell us (person who sent parcel, me as recipient or the missing journals' owner) at what point the weight of the parcel changed.  A claim has been put in for insurance, which is SOMETHING at least for the trouble, but I am sure that we'd all just prefer to be able to post our art and know it's safe.  I have to say, I have posted things all around the continent & the world for years, and for the most part, I haven't had a problem.  THIS ONE takes the cake though!   I would caution anyone reading this to think carefully about what you write as the 'contents' of a parcel sent.  You need to use words that are 'honest' for security reasons – but not descriptive enough to raise the interest of any 'would-be' thief.  Perhaps words like: book, paperwork, printed matter, if anyone has any others, it'd be good to hear them.

As host, I felt just terrible about this happening – especially as the pics I had seen of the original journal showed that it was fabulous (no wonder 'peeping thomas/thomasina' decided to steal it!).  The subject was 'The White Rabbit' and being a big Alice fan, I had things on hand that I thought I would be able to use to restore the journal.  It's not perfect, but it is better than getting nothing back.  So here's some pics of the a couple of pages & the cover of the new journal, including a couple of litho etchings I did as my own contribution to the journal.

IMG_0001_resize The Red Queen's Birthday Party IMG_0004_resize IMG_0003_resizeIMG_0021_resize IMG_0009_resizeIMG_0022_resize

5 responses »

  1. Oh that’s just awful and I truly feel your pain. I sent off my first ceramic piece I ever made to an artist (that has now become a good friend). It had so much bubble wrap the box was twice as big as the piece itself.When she received the box (it was very late in reaching her ~ far beyond a reasonable time to get there) and opened it the ceramic piece was broken in several places. Upon closer inspection it appeared that a rod had gone all the way through the box and wrapping. We are still trying to get the claim paid through the Portland Oregon post office many months later. I hope you have better luck with the claim.

  2. thanks everyone for your replies & responses – I am still in disbelief – and obviously it can’t bring any joy to the person who stole it, because they are beholden to it.

  3. That is horrible. I have participated in 2 RR’s and both of my journals failed to return. I don’t know if it was a matter of postage or what, but it really discouraged me from participating in another. I do exchange art and packages and have tried to “downplay” the amount of creativity within the package, lol! I stopped decorating the envelopes and describe them as books/paper and or second hand items…( which technically is true, since I am sending them to someone else!)😉

  4. I have never heard of this before and it is really such an unfortunate event. The know the amount of effort that goes into these projects and losing a book this way is really sad. The pics you have posted here are amazing!

  5. Hi Keron,
    I am so sorry to hear what happened to your art-filled package in the mail . . . it’s really heart-breaking that that beautiful journal and thoughtful and lovely “bits and pieces” were privy to someone who just helped themselves to it . . . THE NERVE!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

