I’m assessed

Standard

For weeks now, I have been counting down to 2pm today – when I had my half year assessment for my art course.  Six subjects, all being assessed, all at the same time – 8 art journals (for 2 subjects I am already on my second one); 8 printworks; 5 oil paintings; a critical review of an art work, 20 drawings in various mediums, 12 life drawings; yada, yada, yada, basically, lots of stuff – all due at the one time, in the one place for a face to face review by a panel of 'art critics'.Evolution-of-Wood-Engraving   Like a folio presentation.

I have spent the semester feeling TOTALLY out of my depth, still feeling 'drawingly challenged' so the whole process was summing up to be pretty scary!  They were kind, and gentle and encouraging.  I still feel like a 'fraud' artist (due to my lack of drawing skills) & like I don't belong, but I recieved some encouragement to persevere with my painting, great reviews for my print making.  The row of chairs is a 'relief print' carved out of matchbox sized cross grained wood with funny shaped tools that fit in your palm and are as sharp as a razor! (yes, I have the blood to prove it!)  This was really tricky to do, and although it was a requirement, it's probably not something I'd fuss about doing again.Diverse-Culture-web   My set of 5 paintings were elements of Melbourne life I called Urbania.  It included:  'Hands of Justice' (representing the court buildings and taken from a photograph of a statue of a judge); 'Diverse Culture' depicting street buskers (entertainers) & traditional ballet & our Hands-of-Justice-web Art's Centre. I was required to create a 'hommage' to an artist & so my 'Man in the Street' panel was a hommage to the work of John Bracks – a Melbourne artist, most famous for his work titled 'Collins St at 5pm' (a CBD street – equivalent to Wall St, or Saville Row – a main, well known CBD street).  The other two panels were a retail one & one abstractly depicting Federation Square (another major Melbourne landmark)

Although none of this is altered arts – it's the path I am on at the moment for my art, I ache to get my hands in some acrylic The-Man-in-the-Street-webpaint & just 'squidge' around in it – but that's not to be right now – this is all pretty full on, and I am still battling physical constraints that are quite challenging at times.Snow-Gums-web

We are done with 'relief' printing now where you work in the 'negative' – moving into 'intaglio' or dry point printing using etched plates & working in the 'positive'.  After working with this for only a couple of weeks, I am really liking the results of this, and see a much broader application for it.  It remains to be seen how well I do it, but I am encouraged by today's work – shown here – taken from a magazine photo of Snow Gums.  I would like to 're do' some Alice scenes & I think this would be a good medium to do it in.  The one from Tenniel with Alice at the tea party has always worried me, it seems to me that she has such a sullen pouty face, & she doesn't fit with the 'wonderlust' Alice that I have conjured up in my mind.  Also I have Teri's 'White Rabbit' journal due to arrive here, so that's a good excuse to work on something like that!  Something a bit less serious than my work in first semester.

7_1

5 responses »

  1. Dear Kes,
    Your ‘chair’ etchings are absolutely divine and I would love a print on old antique paper to frame!!
    You are amazing and still my favourite artist….
    Hugs to you
    Lynne x

  2. Keron, there is some real progress in your work and I look forward to seeing the new and varied paths you are taking. What a fabulous opportunity this is for you.

  3. Like Aimeslee, I really admire what you have done – what an incredible experience you have had and are having. Looking forward to you sharing your continuing journey.

  4. Hi, Keron, I admire you for sticking with this. It’s something I once wanted to do, lets see, about 30 years ago, but 3 years towards a college minor in art was all the progress I made before switching to the more sensible accounting major. Hang in there, when you say you’ve felt totally out of your depth, that’s a lot like what Alice must have felt in Wonderland, eh? LOL
    Can’t wait to get one of your Emotive Faces and I hope you like mine. Do take a look at my blog if you’ve the time:
    http://paper-paisleys.blogspot.com/2009/07/emo-faces-crusade-32.html
    xoxo,
    Aimeslee

Leave a Reply

