a little piece of art

Standard

Connie from Paper Traders is running an 'Emotive Faces' swap and seeing as facesAfter Rubens have been such a big part of my drawing journey of the last 12 months – I just HAD to join in.  This girl is one that I am just always enthralled with.  She has such a peaceful, langid look on her face, but it's still pensive.  For me (personally) she has all of the intrigue that comes with the Mona Lisa.  I have made 5 originals of her, (in reverse, because of how I made it) I started, by drawing the pic on to lino & then carving it out & making lino prints, hand burnishing ink onto the watercolour paper with a spoon. (this made the image in reverse to the original)
I then used pencils, chalks, watercolour paint & ink to work in the colours. Being originals, each one is different, but I only scanned one of them.

In Art Theory at the moment, we are studying Baroque artists, & Sir Peter Paul Rubens (June 28, 1577May 30, 1640) was a prolific seventeenth-century Flemish Baroque painter, and a proponent of an exuberant Baroque style that emphasized movement, color, and sensuality. He is well-known for his Counter-Reformation altarpieces, portraits, and history paintings of mythological and allegorical subjects.

Peter_Paul_Rubens_091b this one is a totally different style – but Infanta Isabella Clara Eugenia has amazing detail in her clothing, which I find enchanting.

 

4 responses »

  1. Keron your blog is such a pleasure to visit and your portaits are wonderful.
    I love visiting your blog and you are so talented my friend !!!
    Thanks for sharing. Hugs, Laura.
    I finally have a blog.🙂

Leave a Reply

