WHEN you’re HOT, you’re HOT, when you’re not, YOU’RE ON FIRE

Standard

I KNOW, that this post will be a bit rambling & drawn out, but PLEASE read to the end – I NEED YOUR HELP. It has been a weekend literally in the fires of hell here.   We, in Victoria are in the middle of a hideously hot patch of weather….tinderbox  Bushfire kinglake dry……we are experiencing the hotest temperatures ever recorded in our weather history (?approx 150 years) – at 45.6C (115F) – and wind of 160km per hour – our state has been a bushfire waiting to happen.  ON SATURDAY IT HAPPENED.   I have hesitated to post for the last few weeks, to not take away from One Heart, One World – but now it's time for us to use our heart to share the love in the ART world (where we frequently care & share) – to the people in our community at large.  This VIDEO is a tiny taste of what we are experiencing everywhere around us.  News on the TV a couple of minutes ago – confirm 108 bodies, 750 homes destroyed and approximately 40 people with various degrees of burns in one of our metropolitan hospitals that has been now set aside to care for the burns patients that are still coming in as our state is still burning in several localities.  Over 330,000 hectacres of bushland and forests have been burnt out (I hectacre = 2.5 acres) There is lots more info here – I can't embed it because it's all news copywritten – but it's all pretty tragic.  The news flashes & special reporting is filled with aftermathpeople who have lost everything except literally the clothes on their back, many displaced, many of them don't know whether loved ones are alive or dead, and many of the dead, just haven't been found yet.  Incredibly sad – and worse than that – some of the first were deliberately lit.  I JUST DON'T GET IT  THIS is just ONE of the art treasures we lost.  The fires yesterday were at most 1/4 mile from our home, and we were safe ONLY because of the direction of the wind – if that changed – we would have lost everything (including my art) within a matter of minutes………I am thankful……..so thankful.   I want to help facilitate some light in a period of deep darkness in these poor people's lives – and I need your help. 

My DH & I have created some beautiful tactile wooden hearts in response to Stephanie Lees heart warming story of the Love passed between her parents via a heart that she made……..the story is on the etsy page – WOULD YOU READ MY ETSY LOVE IT FORWARD page – and if you feel you can – buy a heart – and share your love with us in a fire ravaged State.  Share your Heart – LOVE it FORWARD.

Today I am in the process of creating a 'Heart Felt' Doll – I will have kits to purchase and a pattern to down load – would you make some and send them to me?????  There are literally thousands of people displaced without a thing except the clothes on their backs – in this situation – the practial things are taken care of, but a little loveliness amidst the black can bring so much joy – I know – I have experienced this myself over the last few months with jestures from special friends after Maddie died.  I will take them to the fire relief centres for distribution.

I HOPE TO HAVE THIS FINISHED AND POSTED WITH IN THE NEXT 12 HOURS.

You know, when Maddie died (our grandbaby – still born on 9/11) – it was such a beautiful thing that some darling group of ladies had made these lovely little satin bound wrap arounds with a message of hope attached, so that she could be bought to us to hold wrapped in love.  It was VERY touching and something that I'll never forget.  I want to share my heart – I want to love it forward – I want these dear folk to feel an outpouring of love from the art world. 

WILL YOU HELP ME LOVE it FORWARD?????

7 responses »

  1. Keron I would love to help but would need a kit to buy as sewing is not my strong point, BUT I so want the people who have lost EVERYTHING to know that they MATTER and that I CARE… Whatever I can do to help I will,
    Hope you and yours stay safe, praying for you all xxx
    Dawn

  2. Hi Keron…I have just joined the ning site and will start on my doll this afternoon. I have been so worried about all those of you living around the Melbourne area and have been watching the news and wondering if you are all ok.
    You are in our thoughts.
    Love from England….
    Linda

  3. A beautiful Gesture at such a sad time.
    It’s a shame only $3.00 cash value per heart can get to the victims, as they must be desperate for financial help too! I wish I could offer more, but will definately be donating something. I can’t imagine the terror people have suffered and continue to suffer – I truly shudder!
    I know people are donating via the red cross, perhaps a link to this would be good to include in your posting and on the etsy site.
    I’m so glad you are safe and sound, the last few days I have been wondering about all our my buddies from the East🙂
    xo

  4. Karen, please count me in. For the hearts and the dolls. My heart hurts for your neighbors and for you – although God spared your family and your home, the memories of all the death and despair will live with you forever. Please contact me privately with anything that I can do.
    elena@evigilfarinas.com

Leave a Reply

