goodbyes

Standard

It had been my intention to talk about my visit to Degas in this post however, it's been a kinda odd week – with the losses of someone close and someone far – so dancing doesn't seem to be appropriate subject matter.  I have been continually drawing, getting to the point where I will perhaps start to 'grade' what I show you, there is so much and I can tell from the literal halving of my blog audience – that interest is waining – but I have been drawing so prolificly - constantly looking for something to draw on………… I have always made a point of showing my work good and bad so that you don't get the impression that 'I've made it' or that my art is up on some unattainable pedistal – believe me – I make PLENTY of ordinary stuff – this week I was drawing one of our dogs (German Shorthaired Pointers) – oh my goodness……it went through several metomorphosis in the process looking like a possum, a bear, a wolf and a small horse!  It IS finished now – and The Princess at two and a half can recognise it as a dog – (1st base) – however I think she could have done it just as well herself!  LOL!!  Maddie-is-watching-for-you- This sketch is called 'Maddie is watching for you……' and looks significantly sweeter in real life (particularly without the scan shadow from the gutter of my journal)… I also wanted to share with you about an artist who finished his life journey this week.  I don't know well personally – but he was always encouraging to me and I found his work fascinating……. his 'take' on a scene always provokes a sense of wonder for me…….His name was Andrew Wyeth, & he lived in Pensylvania & was a member of the huge online art community Wet Canvas – to me - Andrew so often seemed to capture what I call 'Ephemeral Moments' – moments that have an element of wonderlust about them – and that  pass in a blink.  They are often missed and rarely recorded……you know, like how a fabric of a dress swishes as someone walks by – or the light that dapples on autumn leaves that makes them almost transluscent….. and the way that the glow of reflected light at sunset can soften the harshest of faces – Andrew did that - he was the master of the moment…….here are some of his moments……

 

here are some words from him………

 I can't work completely out of my imagination. I must put my foot in a bit of truth; and then I can fly free.

I don't really have studios. I wander around around people's attics, out in fields, in cellars, anyplace I find that invites me.

I prefer winter and fall, when you feel the bone structure of the landscape – the loneliness of it, the dead feeling of winter. Something waits beneath it, the whole story doesn't show.

I search for the realness, the real feeling of a subject, all the texture around it… I always want to see the third dimension of something… I want to come alive with the object.

I surrendered to a world of my imagination, reenacting all those wonderful tales my father would read aloud to me. I became a very active reader, especially history and Shakespeare.

If you clean it up, get analytical, all the subtle joy and emotion you felt in the first place goes flying out the window.

It's a moment that I'm after, a fleeting moment, but not a frozen moment.

It's all in how you arrange the thing… the careful balance of the design is the motion.

One's art goes as far and as deep as one's love goes.

To be interested solely in technique would be a very superficial thing to me.

To have all your life's work and to have them along the wall, it's like walking in with no clothes on. It's terrible.

Artists today think of everything they do as a work of art. It is important to forget about what you are doing – then a work of art may happen.

Goodbye friends – thank you for being a part of my life and art journey

Leave a Reply

