The FIRST day of Christmas

Standard

Vladimirskaya MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE – have a happy and blessed day today.

Paul_C%C3%A9zanne_202 This year swaps for the 12 Days of Christmas are everywhere – I LOVED doing it & I will definitely do one again next year.  You saw my Partridges a couple of weeks ago, & I have decided to explore the traditional meaning of the 12 Days of Christmas and to 'gift' you with new images each of the 12 Days to encourage the proliferation of beautiful art.  They won't necessarily be Christmas pictures per se – as I thought you might want to get on and explore some other things.  They are all copywrite free and available to use and print.  Some of the files are bigger than others – so it may mean some of the days it will take longer to open.  Sorry about that – I am sure there probably is a better way – I am just not sure what it is!  Like I said a couple of weeks ago – enough knowledge to get myself INTO trouble with the Web – but not enough to get myself out!

The traditional meaning of the 12 Days of Christmas was as a 'memory prompt' for children to learn about God.  Various traditions have arisen out of the various days (the most notable probably 12th Night celebrations of Mardi Gras – however it was, in it's origins a Christian verse.  Of course – the FIRST day of Christmas my true love (God the Father) gave to us his Son – Jesus Christ – who died for us all, on a cross.  NOT because we are so terrible – but because we were born into a 'State' that immediately took us prisioner by it's culture and we had no control over that.  You can read more about that here.

Good_shepherd_02b_close

Koloman_Moser_Fruchtschale_mit_drei_rotgelben_BirnenCA2TWV8JPaul_Cezanne_-_Apples%2C_Pears_and_Grapes

Please leave a comment and a link on the day with the image of any of them you use and on January 14th  I will draw a winner – to recieve one of my original pieces of artwork.

 

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful images, Keron – thanks for sharing =) I haven’t used any yet but hope to find some time to art this weekend. I hope you’re having a very Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

