Virtual Sketch Date

Standard

This is my entry for this month's drawing challenge for virtual sketch date.  Seeing that the topic was pears – I couldn't resist, however, mine is amature hour as there are primarily 'real' artists playing here!VSD-KL-pears-web I did it in relatively light washes as it was my original intention to stamp text into the pears.  I added the black lettering, then the gold, & it looked enough…. but now the pears look a little insipid because they are rendered so softly.  It's not terrible – it just doesn't have a lot of 'zing'.

POST SCRIPT (Monday) –  thanks everyone for your kind & encouraging comments about my pears.  I really appreciate them.  A number of people have emailed me & asked how I did the background – it is watercolour crayon, with a masked stencil sponged on in calligraphy ink. 

10 responses »

  1. Nice job. You have your own style already with your lettering and accents. Glad you could join. Your food sketches made me hungry. I had never heard of coleslaw on baked potatoes. And we don’t use beets as much as you do there. Usually just on salads.

  2. Nice job. You have your own style already with your lettering and accents. Glad you could join. Your food sketches made me hungry. I had never heard of coleslaw on baked potatoes. And we don’t use beets as much as you do there. Usually just on salads.

  3. Nice job. You have your own style already with your lettering and accents. Glad you could join. Your food sketches made me hungry. I had never heard of coleslaw on baked potatoes. And we don’t use beets as much as you do there. Usually just on salads.

  4. A lovely, original piece of art! The pears are simply done, but stand out with their neutral color against the red and green behind them. I like the addition of the lettering and stamping too!

  5. Well, I think this is just superb the way that it is, kinda subtle and understated which I believe suits Pears down to a “T”!!! I also love the gold lettering inside the middle one, perfect!

  6. Keron, you did a lovely job… don’t you dare think different! I love the little stamped accents – how did you distress that stamped background? Is the stamped image already like that or did you do something special?

  7. I really like your interpretation. I think you totally fit in with the rest of the sketch date participants so don’t let yourself think otherwise. Great work! I wasn’t able to particpate this month (too many halloween costumes to sew!!) Hope to see you next month.
    gail

  8. You’re a real artist too. You took the image and made into your own. Never say that you’re not a real artist. People thought Picasso was crazy, but just look now. I like the stamped background.
    VSD is so much fun and it’s great to see how many different ways the same image can be intrepreted.

Leave a Reply

