Every Day Matters

Standard

001-shoes-web

I am feeling as though I would like to have a bit more of a drawing challenge than just drawing faces every day now – though I intend to keep that up – I have TOTALLY jumped in the deep end and joined a group of REAL (as in people pay them to be one!) artists working at drawing daily to refine their drawing skills.  They are already up to challenge 169 – and I am starting at ONE – so as you can see – I have miles to go – the first challenge was to draw a shoe/s.  I have an odd foot, so even as a young person, I have always kinda been the 'sensible shoe' person – no mile high Jimmy Choo heels for this girl – so I figured that I'd fantacize a little about what sort of shoes I COULD wear…… mine are purple – with red trim & a big sparkling bit of bling on the top – tied with hand dyed silk ribbons!!!

I have adapted the poem by Jenny Joseph 'Warning – When I Am an Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple' for this piece.  I have added details relevant to myself into the lines & adapted it accordingly.  It reads…..
'When I am old, I shall wear purple with a red hat that doesn't go & doesn't suit me.

I will spend all my money on beautiful paper & satin underwear, & say we've no money for food.

I shall go out in my slippers in the rain & pick the flowers in other people's gardens & learn to spit & whistle.

I shall grow more terribly fat & eat three pounds of sausages at a time or only trifle for a week and hoard old books & photographs & store things in boxes.' 

The profiled 'me' at the side was created from instructions of one of my 'how to draw fantasy' books.

4 responses »

  1. Too cute! I love that poem…I once adapted it with a quilting theme for an activity we were doing. You shoe is intriguing and if you changed the hair to gray you have by profile down to a tee…complete with the “wattle”! (How did you know?) Heehee

Leave a Reply

