9/11 is a sad day

Standard

I don't feel like art –

last night our darling new grandson, Oscar, was still born

our own 9/11 tragedy

 

UPDATED 8th October, 2008

 

 

we received the autopsy results during this week and had the news on Thursday that the attending doctor got it wrong, that little Oscar is infact baby Madelyn.  Apparently  gender misdiagnosis with pre-term babies is a common thing (we are now told) it’s easy mistake to make with preterm babies as the genital nodes can be either swollen for a girl (and appear like small male appendages) or recessed for a boy and so not be obvious to give the appearance that baby is a girl.

 

18 responses »

  1. I’ve only just found your blog, and reading about losing your grandson made me catch my breath. My daughter was stillborn eight years ago and it’s just so hard in those early days. A nurse I had told me ‘if you’re breathing you’re coping’ and she was so right. Just so that you know, when you or your family are ready, there are organisations like SANDS available for help and support through this awful journey.
    Kindly, Anna

  2. I know how painful this is. I’m so sorry, for all of you. My tears are shed for little Oscar too and I’ll send a prayer of love for him and strength for you and your family. My heart just goes out to you all.

  3. Keron: Almost one year ago our family experienced a similar heartbreaking event when my niece was told, the day before her delivery date, that the baby’s heartbeat had been “lost”, and so the child was stillborn. I understand your inability to speak, or function, or even think. I won’t try to offer phony thoughts such as “it will get better as time passes.” I will just assure you that I have added you to my prayers.

  4. Oh, Keron- I am so sorry to here about Oscar. My heart aches for you and your family. I too know how hard it is to lose a baby, and want you to know that you are in my thoughts and prayers. With much love-
    Letha

  5. I am a frequent visitor to your artful blog and have been touched by your art work. I am so incredibly sorry for your loss. No words can fill the space, so I envision sending a soothing light to you and your family – a balm for your souls…

Leave a Reply

