we have a winner

Standard

Songbird_web Here is my new ‘face of the day’ titled ‘Songbird’  found a sheet of music with lovely words & have let some of that show through.   I have done this face wholly in acrylics & I am settled enough with the result – I have used some Golden Acrylic Medium in the paint which has given me a ‘wet edge’ to work with a little longer & enabled a bit more ‘blendability’ between the shades.  I am NOT saying that this face is perfect, but for my skills as they are right now – this is the best face I can make.   I can definitely improve my ‘hands’ & I have a plan for that – my DH is a shocker with buying gifts (leaves it to the last minute, never pays enough attention about what to buy = gets in a real tizz about it) – so we have come to a real happy truce about this & I make an online order, for my birthday gift to arrive about the right time.  This year I got an order from Amazon & one of the books that I ordered was ‘Drawing Dynamic Hands‘  – I am hoping to be able to get some good tips from this to create nicer hands.  One of the RR Journals to arrive later in the year is on hands as well, so I am hoping to be able to create a page depicting a game of ‘2 up’ (a traditional Australian game of heads & tails) & draw some nice hands for that.    I used a stippling brush to do the bird as I wanted to have soft edges, like new soft feathers.  We are just about to enjoy the beginning of Spring when we will see these fluffy adolescent babies everywhere.  Again – the gutter of the book is a bit blury – but I think it will be like that from now on until the end of the book (I still have about 1/3 to finish)

Here’s the rest of this post – which I posted earlier today, while this was still drying – declaring BEKKI HOLSO as the winner of my birthday competition.
Img_0788_resize
The truth is – birthdays are REALLY all about the cake & this year’s was no exception – a delicious white chocolate & hazlenut number from my fav. Italian Patisserie, complete with a sign!

As no one actually guessed by fav. no – it’s 27 – AND there weren’t 27 comments (though over 100 visitors in the last 30 hours – don’t people want to win nice things for free??????) – so – as a Plan C – I put the numbers 1 – 12 into a Random number generator & here are the results – the winner is BEKKI HOLSO – who was the 4th person to leave me a lovely birthday message.  Thanks to everyone who played along & thank you all so much for making my birthday special.  Beks – something special is on it’s way to you soon! 

Random Integer Generator

Here are your random numbers:  4, 11, 1, 12, 2, 10, 6, 5, 9, 10, 9, 7

Timestamp: 2008-08-23 19:18:20 UTC  
6 responses »

  1. I think this is wonderful Keron! Love the face and hands. Very striking. I think you have done the shading perfectly on her face.
    Very nice of you to do a give away too!

  2. Oh, Keron, I love this page…the lady is beautiful and the birdie looks so soft and real…just want to reach out and stroke it. AND…the background is also divine. I am so enjoying watching the progress of this project. It is beautiful.

  3. Yea, me! And Connie’s right… that cake looks absolutely DIVINE! Thanks for hosting a fun giveaway. I hope your birthday cake was just one of many wonderful things on your special day =)

Leave a Reply

