a special day

Standard

Happy Birthday Friendster Graphics Upholding established blog tradition – IT’S MY BIRTHDAY – & you get the present!  The person that leaves a comment that either includes my favourite number OR their comment is the one that IS my favourite number (ie 5th comment IF 5 was my fav. no!) will recieve a lovely surprise by snail mail.  It depends on how familiar you are with my artwork – with a bit of sluthing – you could probably work it out – cos it does re-occur in my artwork every now & then.(how wierd is it to have ‘traditions’ with something that is 5 minutes old!)

Iloveyourblog11the very lovely Elizabeth has given me my first birthday gift of the day – an ‘I love your blog’ award. (I have already recieved lovely messages from the very special Sally & Jenene)  One of the great ‘take aways’ from Elizabeth’s blog is this quote from Daisaku Ikeda

You must not for one instant give up the effort to build new lives for yourselves. Creativity means to push open the heavy, groaning doorway to life. This is not an easy struggle. Indeed, it may be the most difficult task in the world, for opening the door to your own life is, in the end, more difficult than opening the door to the mysteries of the universe.

OMG – how MUCH does this describe my effort to try & paint a face right!  ‘PUSH OPEN A HEAVY, GRO-ANING DOORWAY into life!’  Yesterday’s face just about did me IN! 

With my art work – I often art into (or sometimes through the night – yeah, I’m not really into sleeping much – did you EVER wonder how I am so prolific????) – by the time I am ready for bed I am bleary eyed & don’t usually trust my sense of reality at this point – so I have this test I call ‘The Morning After’ test.  I look at the work I have produced the ‘night before’ & sort of mentally critique it & pull it apart to see what I can do better……..WELL ………..LOL!!  I was SO fixated on yesterday’s NOSE (my emphasis for the day) that the eyes are crooked – the mouth is out of line – I think that I have LOST what I gained when I started about 7 weeks ago – A RULER!!!! LOL! 

Birdsweb SO – it’s my birthday & I am giving myself permission NOT to make a birthday face – I have made some ATC’s instead – it is SUCH a long time since I have made any at all & they were my first love, it was time to revisit!  At Paper Traders we have this ‘monthly ATC lottery’ which is really a lot of fun, but I have not been a regular contributor – but this month’s ‘pot’ has some FABULOUS cards in it & I have to be in it to WIN!  So I have made a whole range of ‘birdies’, threatening that I am going to put the whole lot in to ‘rig’ the lottery!! (and YES – I DID get a new black stamp pad in my birthday box from Alpha Stamps – it’s a Versa Fine archival Onyx Black – I love it – it’s so crisp, but dense colour – mmmmm gooood)

18 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday to you , Happy Birthday to you , Happy BIRTHDAYYYYY DEAR KERONNNNNNNNNNNN , and lovely ATC’s toooooOOOOOOOOOOooooooo!
    And the face is NOT cock-eyed , sheesh – it really is the scanner. I see things on my scanned bits you’d need a microscope for in real life lol.

  2. Well, I was going to say 15 but then I thought, hmmm, favorites can change and you will soon have 3 grandchildren so maybe it is 3…cuz we know that grandchildren are the BEST! And being a grandma is the BEST! So since someone else picked 15 I will say 3.
    Whatever the number…I just want to say Happy Birthday, dear friend. I hope you are making time for yourself and enjoying the two days of birthday celebrating…one for downunder and one for us over here in the western hemisphere…heck, two are not enough…celebrate the whole week, no the whole month, maybe for a whole year. Yes, that is what you should do, declare this the year of the colourguru and honor it all year through. 365 days of pure joy, peace and happiness just for YOU! You deserve it. Tell everyone it has been decreed and it cannot be taken back, so they will just have to adapt! Love you, Sweetie.

  3. Happy Birthday, Keron!
    Thank you for your year round enthusiasm and encouragement to others. You give us a gift every day.
    Oh numbers, must be a 5, but I like 8 for myself.
    Happy, Happy Day!
    Joanie

  4. Any chance to get something from you is a chance worth taking. It’s your birthday but one of us gets the gift! So, I am sorry to say that I do not know what your favorite number is but I have noticed that you use groups of 3 or sometimes 6 in your art. Of course, I can also point to examples of 5 or 7… so who knows? Only you =)
    I hope that you’ve been having a wonderful day and feel as special as you ARE!

  5. Happy Birthday to my special friend….so what’s so special about Keron?? Her warm, generous and compassionate heart, her purity of spirit, her smile that lights up the room, her spontanoeus laughter that warms you right through when you hear it and of course, her wonderfully beautiful inspiring talent. Love you gorgeous, enjoy your day. Lynne xxx PS I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the birdie cards, the stamps are so delicious and i’m with you, that ink is so black. Just divine. x

Leave a Reply

