Autumn

Standard

Autumnweb I have FINALLY gotten back to my Autumn page – made from gobs of divine russets & claret colours & gel transfers of the roses I showed you a couple of posts back.  The text reads ‘Autumn whispers in light & shadow’.  I ADORE Autumn.  I love the dappled light that appears through as the leaf canopies thin, I love the long, low sunsets, I find the blend of colours on the decidious trees literally SHOW STOPPING – & I have on MORE than ONE occasion, stopped the car, just to look at the colours of leaves on a tree!  OK – some may find that a bit kooky – but read the banner at the top of the page!  I adore colour – I live Claude Monet’s torture & did for a long time before I read how he expressed it……he said ‘Color is my day-long obsession, joy and torment. To such an extent indeed that one day, finding myself at the deathbed of a woman who had been and still was very dear to me, I caught myself in the act of focusing on her temples and automatically analyzing the succession of appropriately graded colors which death was imposing on her motionless face.’  I can be shocked and relieved by this at the same time – HOW terrible – that he was so ‘absent’ at such a significant moment and yet – what ‘presence’ to be able to make such a critical observation despite the circumstances – I did it just a couple of days ago when my daughter was upset….noticing how her crying had made the ‘lip’ of her eyes seem more white & pronounced – there is NO hope for me – I am TRUELY obscessed by colour!  You don’t see it very clearly on the scan, but there is a sewn pocket of paper on this page & I am going to sew some autumn leaves to put in here one time when I have the sewing machine out.

3 responses »

  1. Keron I too have stopped the car in the street and sat for ages just looking at all of the amazing colours in the leaves on the trees. Your page is fantastic and I wait in anticipation of the next page.
    Eliza

  2. Oh, Keron, I adore Autumn too! It is my very favoritest time of year. Your page is GORGEOUS! Interesting analogy in that Autumn is a sort of death too in which we find gradients of color and beauty.

Leave a Reply

