Day 4 to 6

Standard

Img_1074_resizeIt seems almost irreverant to wipe off the last 3 days with a short post of saying I had a good time.  Everyday after everyone was settled, I had the best of intentions of posting & showing you some pictures, but I was just too buggered, & had to be up early again for the next day……… It has been literally a year in planning – buying materials overseas, sorting supplies, preparing for guests, and in a blink it is over.  The first day of the art workshops was Friday (Day 4) – I spent that day with the beautiful, ever gracious Misty Mawn.  I came away with some pretty average results – with all my fears of failure as an artist reinforced – I don’t understand light & shadow AND I don’t paint or draw well – even when it is over a magazine cut out!  Despite Misty’s gracious & encouraging help – my results were pretty dismal – Misty was VERY sweet saying that ‘front on’ faces were the hardest to do & it was exaserbated by the fact that I had chosen a large face….oh well – it’s not the end of the world! (I willImg_1014_resize never throw it out though, because Misty wrote me a lovely personal message on the back!) The more encouraging part was having the opportunity to get one of Misty’s original pieces of work, which was fabulous….Kasha snaffled up the one that I REALLY wanted – but I am happy with my little winged house & girl with a flower in her hair…….  Buying this piece of art was kinda a compensation, ‘cos DH had said I could have one of Misty’s pieces for my birthday last year.  At the time she had one for sale that was in my fav. Golden green-gold (I could EAT that stuff!!!) – when I went to buy it, it was sold & which was disappointing – but he got me lovely art stamps instead, which was great.  (A good compensation, but still not art). 

The next day I met the fabulous Nina Bagley.  I spent all weekend in her workshops.  Saturday we made a book from eyeletted cabinet cards & Sunday she taught us her jewellery making tricks.  I don’t have a great deal to show for all of my work & preparing but Oh My Goodness – I love her!  She is larger than life & my soul has been enlarged for the brief encounter that we had over 2 days. I am exhausted now…..I will post some more pics in the next few days, but now I want to get on & finish my book I started with Nina – it’s called Matters of the Heart……you can see it soon.Img_1516_resize

4 responses »

  1. aww,honey. it did my heart good reading this post!!!! and i agree with everyone else, you are being WAY too hard on yourself about the painting. i commend you for taking the class, and for taking the giant leap to begin painting. i’ve yet to conquer that myself, and wish i would have a free day from teaching sometime soon so i could take misty’s class as well.
    take good care of yourself – x nina

  2. I just popped over after reading you picking on yourself about your class w/Misty – I think you’re being too hard on yourself! You may not be proficient YET but those are really good for a beginner and I especially liked the second.
    And might I add Both of them are better than my experiments with watercolors – I should send you pic’s , you’d be preening all day lol.

  3. It sounds as though you had an amazing time. You are too hard on yourself about your painting skills. A painting doesn’t have to be perfect to be valuable. This one is very valuable, indeed.

Leave a Reply

