L for Loverly

Standard

L_for_loverly_web_2At last I am all caught up with the group of Skinny Bookers at Paper Traders.  It’s a nice feeling!  As I said earlier, its a bit bad when the HOST goes AWOL……I wasn’t REALLY awol…..I was setting the challenges, I just wasn’t making much head way with my own pages………18 are done and there are only 8 to go now…..E,G, I, K,M,N,U,Y…………E will MOST certainly be Eliza, & I think that K will be King, but I haven’t worked out the others yet.  The challenge for L was to use gold or silver.  I had always wanted to have a go with embossed metal, so I thought this was a good opportunity.  I stamped an image on to the metal sheet & then went to work on it with a stylus.  I used several sizes to put in detail on the flower & leaves, & found that it was a little difficult to manipulate once a particular shape was formed in the metal, without getting awkward bumps.  I had mixed results, this was my second go at it, & I like it much better ‘cut out’ as opposed to being left on the ‘sheet’ & just cut around like a frame.  I tried to rust it a bit, which was only sort of successful, but it WAS an after thought & I painted it on after the flower was attached to the page, so I couldn’t do my usual liberal slapping it on everywhere…..so perhaps that’s why it didn’t work too well. For a first attempt, I am happy enough with this, but if I was going to use it again, I would want to get it finer for a project of this scale, or use the piece on a bigger canvas, as the flower dwarfs my Eliza pic.  I LOVE the words to this song…….it’s sung in the flower markets after Eliza’s first chance encounter with Professor Higgins & Col. Pickering leaves her a little more flush than usual……….her fellow miscreants tease her about her new found ‘wealth’ and together they fantacise about live could look like from the other side of the glass

It’s rather dull in town, I think I’ll take me to Paree.
Mmmmmm.
The mistress wants to open up
The castle in Capri.
Me doctor recommends a quiet summer by the sea!
Mmmm, Mmmm, wouldn’t it be loverly?
Eliza All I want is a room somewhere,
Far away from the cold night air.
With one enormous chair,
Aow, wouldn’t it be loverly?
Lots of choc’lates for me to eat,
Lots of coal makin’ lots of ‘eat.
Warm face, warm ‘ands, warm feet,
Aow, wouldn’t it be loverly?
Aow, so loverly sittin’ abso-bloomin’-lutely still.
I would never budge ’till spring
Crept over me windowsill.
Someone’s ‘ead restin’ on my knee,
Warm an’ tender as ‘e can be. ‘ho takes good care of me,
Aow, wouldn’t it be loverly?
Loverly, loverly, loverly, loverly

Leave a Reply

