Organising Your Studio

Standard

Main_storage_shelves I thought, today I’d share a bit about my creative space…..a bedroom, turned studio. Whenever other artists come to play, they always comment on how organised things are & how amazing it all is.  My ‘trade secret’ is all about measuring the space that you have, then choose an appropriate type of storage for each of your supplies.  For myself, I prefer open shelving, with clear containers to ‘behind doors’ storage or containers that hide the contents.  Having said that, however, my studio is actually aGeneral_storage_2 ‘bedroom’ so it has a combination of open shelving (that could be removed to make it more ‘bedroom’ like if we ever wanted to sell our home) AND full depth wardrobes.  The wardrobes are a bit of a challenge to keep organised, as they are deep (as you would expect), & the space between shelving just becomes a big ‘black hole’ that things disappear in. The robes are most adjacent to my work table have all my main everyday supplies in them.  Paints, more Moon Glow, Adhesives, Punches, Drawing supplies, etc so when I am working at the table, I can open the doors, fold them back & pull out one of these drawers & use the supplies straight from the drawer.  I must admit – I frequently get myself in a mess & the state of my studio table (despite me prefering it otherwise) is constantly Paints_mediumsin a state of shambles & I hate how messy & untidy it becomes.  In fact, the reason there are not pics of my studio worktable is that you’d struggle to see the tabletop right now!!! LOL!!!!  I figure if I keep my supplies ordered, & I know where everything is when I need it, I don’t care that my work top gets a bit unmanagable.

I have a varity of storage shelving & methods & assess where something is stored according to how much I use it.  This is something that only you can assess & work out – what do you use the most?  What do you need EVERYTIME you art?  What do you use frequently?  What do you use only every now & then?  It’s something that I encounter all the time in my work as an interior designer.  People don’t put things away because their most convenient storage is filled with things that they want to keep, but don’t frequently use. Enter_at_your_own_risk   
The supplies & tools that I use everytime I am in the studio are in a 3 tiered fruit stand I have in the middle of the table.  This includes blades, scissors, bradle, toothpicks, paddlesticks, some paint brushes, spray bottles of Moon Glow & Walnut Ink, distressing sponges, SO the everyday, every session things – right at my finger tips.  Not things you even use weekly, they can be at arm’s length or within view, but not right on your table.  I have had 180 degree hinges fitted to my wardrobe drawers so  that the doors fold completely flat & I can have them open without them getting in the way.  I use a round work table in the middle of the room & a long workbench that has my computer on it & where I sew.   Apart from that I have a kind of modern adaptation of the old tea trolleys that I have put on castors which serves as my cutting bench & I have my dremel on a stand there.  (I have to say though, I haven’t found my Dremel stand that wonderful & I often just use the Dremel at my work table)

A question often posed to me, being an interior designer, is ‘HOW DO I DESIGN AN IDEAL STUDIO…….then usually they list/tell me about all of the ‘design constraits (‘design challenges’) I think you could boil it down to a few simple headlines, & sort the details as per your personal preference.  They would be:

Crayons_pencil_storageLumiers_frinkles_alphabets 

DESIGN ESSENTIALS:
1.  Good lighting, can’t stress it enough
2.  Easy clean floor including floorboards, vinyl flooring, tiles (though these are hard on your legs & cold underfoot)
3.  Temperature control – good heating & cooling particularly when you have extremes of weather for long periods (days at a time)
4.  Varied work surface heights if possible.  I often like to stand when I work – especially when I am painting, I often sit to sort or assemble, but even then I often like to stand.  I have my cutting bench at a higher height to stand at, my central table at table height for sitting at, & to work over & my computer/sewing bench at desk height to sit and work at.
5.  Storage with adjustable shelving
6. Storage containers SUITED to your supplies

NIStamp_setsCStamp_pads_waxesE TO HAVE: 
1. Adjustable height chair
2. Music
3. BIGGIE – still on my wish list – A sink & water supply
4. Old wine rack for paper storage
5. Drawers with FULL EXTENSION runners (sliding mechanism on the sides that opens the drawers) if possible.
6. Places that are purely inspirational – not necessarily just functional (Fairies live on my window sill!)
7. Elves to clean up after you each morning!!! LOL!!!Inspiring_company

 

Inspiration

15 responses »

  1. Keron, thanks for this!! Great information!! We are in the process of putting an addition on our house of which part of it will be space for me… I can’t wait… no more will my art stuff be wherever I can fit it in the house and no more working at the kitchen counter. But it is a long process when we are doing all the work ourselves…

  2. oh my gosh . . . wow . . . it’s beautiful!
    I oh so want to just move in there . . . but then I’d have it all messed up within the hour . . . so you better not let me :*) :*)

  3. Thanks for sharing this. I love the “Artist at Play” sign!
    Another thought re: varied work surface height is to get an adjustable-height desk.

  4. your studio is simply stunning! and very inspiring 🙂 as a newbie stamper i noticed that some of your ink pads are stored upside down and some are not, can i ask the reason for this?
    thanks, joolz

  5. Keron, thanks much for sharing your studio. The photos and discussion came at the perfect time as we are in the midst of a move to a new house where I will have a much larger, brighter and airier place to play than ever before. I long to be organized. I do. I work at it. I do. But each iteration falls flat — much like your black hole in the deep recesses of one of your storage areas. But ah-ha! You have shown us the way, the truth and the light. I am sold! Hook line and sinker. thanks again, Keron. Happy creativity! Pat

  6. I neeeeed you! My studio is a wreck and nothing I do seems to help for long. Your studio is awesome. And think of all the time you’ll save not hunting for things. Bravo.

  7. WOW! This looks fabulous. I’m pleased you put your link on the CPS group. I’m in the process of trying to organize so it’s great seeing your photos and reading your tips.
    I know what you mean about the sink. We’d purchased a large utility one many years ago but we are concerned there’s not really any place to put it 😦
    I really like what you’ve done with your blog. I will probably be putting a link later this week, or so.
    Thanks again,
    Wendy

Leave a Reply

