Walk About

Standard

Nichos Group

I’m sorry folks – my artistic muse has gone walk-a-bout.  This is a term originally from our indiginous people – Australian Aborigines & is a term referring to the custom of male Aboriginal boys "go walkabout" at the age of thirteen in the wilderness for six months as a rite of passage into adulthood. They then trace the path of the ceremonial ancestors of their tribe, following the exact route that those ancestors took, and imitating in a fashion, their heroic deeds, known as the Songlines.  Coloquially though, it has evolved to mean to disappear inexplicably, with no clear explanation or indication of return.  My Muse has gone Walk-a-bout.

I have been busying myself tidying & organizing in my studio (FINALLY I have new lighting!!! YAY!!!) & collecting Urban Driftwood – interesting odds & sods I find in the street or on my travels.  Next week I am hosting an art day – perhaps some creative spirit from the others will rub off on me!  We will be working on these gorgeous Mexican Nichos which looks like lots of fun.

2 responses »

  1. Those nichos are amazing. We had some in the shop and they all sold out before I had a chance to nab one?!
    Can’t wait to see what you do with them.
    Love all your Gothic Art pages. You have inspired me to give it a go.
    Cheers,
    Jo

Leave a Reply

