Gothic Arch – Christmas

Standard

Twasnightbeforechristmas_2 The Gothic Arch Challenge for this week of course was Christmas – I thought that I’d save mine for a couple of extra days & post it Christmas Eve & Christmas Day.  I am glad that I did because my order from Alpha Stamps came just in time to add this TO DIE FOR trim as a Christmas bunting.  It is just perfect for this piece.  The background image is from German born artist Franz Skarbina who spent his early years in Berlin, but lived in Paris in the height of the Impressionist movement.  His paintings were hall marked by reality & he is thought to be an influencial artist of the day.  I have worked up the image with oil pastels, black wax & Golden fluid acrylic pearl paints.  (YUM!).  The text in along the bottom is from my scrap box from a couple of years ago, but I don’t remember who made it.  It is Christmas Eve here in Oz – so I know it seems early for you in the Northern Hemisphere (who still have 2 sleeps & at least 2 more shopping days left!) – MERRY CHRISTMAS to all of my special art friends.  I pray you have a happy, safe & blessed festive season & that your 2008 is filled with good things & special times with loved ones.  We will have our little Princess (now 17 months old) staying with us today & tomorrow while mum works (in hospitality)……….it should be good fun!

CHRISTMAS TRIVIA for today is about the lights on the Christmas Tree – It commenced aparently as a Northern European custom believed light the way to a tree to shelter woodland spirtis when other trees lost their leaves during winter.  The truth is – I don’t care where it came from – I adore my house smelling like pine all December through (we always have a real tree – cultivated as a festive tree) & the lights add to the whole sensual experience…………OH……….by the way – the poem commonly called ‘The Night Before Christmas’ was actually originally titled: ‘A Visit from Saint Nicholas’.  Written by Clement Moore for his children & Christmas guests, someone anonymously sent the poem to a New York newspaper for publication.

One response »

Leave a Reply

