Get me to the CHURCH on time!

Standard

C_for_church_webThis week’s technique for our Skinny book uses a resist technique which started out from Bernie Berlin’s book ‘ATC Workshop’.  I say it began there because I have evolved into my own method by refining & evolving the original technique somewhat. A ‘resist’ technique is just what the name suggests – it hold’s back on something.  In this case, the embossed stamped image has resisted the oils & wax over the top & the pattern shows through.  I always use Sennelier Artist Oil Pastels to do this technique, & on this page, given the topic, I have also used moonglow for gorgeous pearly wedding effects.  Other products I use to create this effect are: Langridge Antiquing Wax and Treasure Gold coloured waxes which you can get from Ian & Dale at The Thread Studio in Perth. (I know they are closed for orders til 26th Oct).  This Gothic church window is one of my all time fav. stamps.  It is from Stampington, but it is available in Oz from Joyce at Paper Forest Designs.  (Unfortunately only available as mounted)……..SO………..HOW do you do it??????  The FIRST job is to find a stamp that suits your topic that is a relatively open design like the window I have chosen.  As I have only just done Arch_stamps_weba whole lot of work using the Gothic Arch Stamp, I thought it would be nice to use something a bit different to capture a ‘church’ feel for the ‘resist’. So I chose the stamp on the left for a church door & added some other smaller stamps below, leaving some ‘flat’ space for me to add images & text.  It really didn’t work too well at all.  The image was far too dense & as I worked pastel into it, the original outline was totally obscured. (pictured below)  I reverted back to my trusty fav which looks fabulous in every application……firstly I usually paint the background with some black or white gesso.  I like the ‘chalkiness’ of it & how it gives a nice texture for the ink to settle in.  Then you stamp your image.  You CAN use coloured ink or just embossing fluid, suit yourself.  The colour will show through a little from your original ink – so make sure you like it.  Then emboss using some UTEE.  DON’T over-cook the UTEE, otherwise it almost melts to a liquid & joins it’s neighbour……..you want it ‘just’ cooked.  Let this cool for a minute or two so that it hardens.  then start working in oil pastels in colours to compliment your scheme.  Rub & blend  – working over your stamped image until you are happy with the result.  Then take a piece of paper towel & rub hard over the embossed image.  This then reveals the image underneath.  You can then work up the colour with mineral washes or just coat with a clear acrylic laquer.  If you haven’t already, read the post about Sennelier Artist Oil Pastels to find your prefered choice of sealer.

  Faults_dense_image_web

Leave a comment