Nest Builder

Standard

Nest_before_webThis atc is the next one for my online workshop.  It is a combination of machine & hand stitching.  It represents a significant amount of work because of the detailing, some of which is lost in the final embellishing.  I started with a piece of raw (washed) calico which I had dyed blue (& have the hands to prove it!).  Then I used a piece of cotton lace, dipped in bleach & pressed it on the calico & brayered over it.  This bleached the lace pattern onto the dark fabric.  Unfortunately, I got a bit zealous with the zig zag & alot of this detailing is lost.  I used a zigzag stitch on my machine, first in grey (for the background) & creamy white for the ‘nest’ section.  After that, I hand stitched some shredded string on & did some random stitching with linen thread & used the same thread to sew on the buttons for eggs.  Next, I used 3mm silk ribbon & embroidered long & short, random blanket stitches.  I tried out a few ways to add a bird & resorted to paper in the end, but it probably isn’t that suited to a fabric ATC.  Last of all, I added a little bullion stitch bee & some more shreaded string.Nest_finished_web  It was a bit of fun to do some free hand embriodery again………….it is literally years since I have done any, though I used to do it prolifically, & teach others as well.  A nice little project to break me in again!! LOL!!

9 responses »

  1. Keron this piece is gorgeous! Can really appreciate all the work that has gone into this wonderful little piece of fabric art!
    Love it!

  2. This fabric atc looks fabulous Keron! Having come from a fabric background and made only 1 fabric atc, I know how long these little devils take! Suggestion for adding a paper bird, attach a piece of calico to an A4 sized piece of Reynolds freezer paper by ironing it together. Then run it through your printer to print on the fabric – voila….a fabric bird to stitch on!

  3. Oh my dear this is simply gorgeous!! I just love all the texture and tiny details you’re amazing!!! wow wish could take the class!!! but alas back to work soon and LOL have no time now to get things done will be worse when back to work but someday maybe!!! lovely dear!! Hugs Linda

  4. It’s lovely , the paper bird looks really good to me – and the nest is a triumph! How in heavens name would one sew that down , if you don’t mind my asking?!

Leave a Reply

