A Bird & A Fish

Standard

Abirdafishweb HERE IT IS……..the first page in my new journal.  Which now HAS a title, however, I am going to work on the front of the journal & the title page now over the next few days, so that will be my next post.
I worked up this page using old music & an old flower encyclopedia from 1903 as background.  I used pages & pages of old B & W line drawings of flowers & old sheet music between them, just layering them until I was happy with the combination.  I used a Basic Grey paper from their Motifica range for the water & ‘washed’ it over with a glaze made from Golden Acrylic Medium, Moon Glow & Golden Heavy Bodied Acrylic.  I created a palette from Golden’s Green Gold (my fav.); Raw Umber, Titan Buff, Cobalt Teal, Terre Verte Hue & Cerulean Blue, Chromium (using Golden Acrylic Medium to ‘dilute’ them & maintain a ‘washy’ look).   When they had dried, I added the fish & some heart Buttonswebstencilling from some ‘sequin waste’ in various colours scattered around.  After that, I have used several other stamps to ‘build’ the intricacy of the background in light colours, so as not to impose on the main theme.  THEN I attempted to add my bird via a gel transfer. The old paper didn’t take the paints & mediums too well & the first time, I tore away more paper than I left I think!  I found myself doing little ‘repairs’ in the form of ‘painty bits’ along the way.  The second try was better than the first & I am happy overall with the result.

I recently discovered these gorgeous covered buttons from K & Company…..I thought I’d scan them before I took it apart ‘cos they are just so luscious all on the card together.  I have had the name ‘Mrs Bouquet’ in my inspiration box for the past couple of weeks & I think these buttons are going to inspire me to my next page in my new journal & Mrs. Bouquet will have a starring role!

8 responses »

  1. I just a set too! Can’t wait to see what yu do with them. I was thinking I’d cut the shank off and glue them to lacy;s stiff stuff and bead around them. Still in the thinking stage.

  2. Keron -as always your work is exceptional! Absolutely beautiful and inspiring! By the way I love both your pics and your techniques. Your poll won’t let me choose both. Marva

  3. Keron, this is lovely — both the imagery and the colors. I always enjoy reading about the creative process, so thanks for including this information, which makes one appreciate the result all the more.
    I’ve done b&w transfers, but never ones in color (or did you color in the bird?). Is the technique any different? (I do both acrylic medium transfers and water transfers onto paper and fabric.)

Leave a Reply

