A Mother Regrets

Standard

A_mothers_regrets_webThere are times as a mother that you see your children making dubious choices for their lives that desperately want to save them from.  At these times, you go through the whole if only…, I should have…., I could have…., what if I’d………….as your inner dialogue punishes you as you try to understand how they/you got to that place.  Today is one of those days for me.  My faith is tested & I feel stretched.  My heart feels like it is outside my body for people to brush against & even the whisper of a breeze feels like a crushing blow.  Tomorrow will be a better day.  I made this ATC in theA_single_moment_in_time_web wee hours called A Mother Regrets.  The second one is called A Single Moment in Time….it seems sometimes lifelong choices hinge on decisions we make in A Single Moment in Time.

ps I have finally worked out how to do a custom header with help from my kind art friend Carla.  It’s not a masterpiece, but I am happy with it for a first attempt.

9 responses »

  1. I know *exactly* what you are feeling! Oh I have been feeling nothing but “What could I have done or said?” that made our daughters make the decisions they have been making? It’s been extremely rough for me because I don’t dare speak to others purely because I get so tired of hearing how their children are perfect, how they receive accolades of you name it… I just wish I could turn the clock back and do things differently. One thing I know I would do differently and that would be to “Be consistent”… My daughters are 21 and 19 years old adults and it is very difficult to watch them make the choices they are making. Believe me I truly *know* the feeling. Being a parent is the hardest job there is in the world. As the saying goes, “When they are little they step on your toes, When they are older they step on your heart.”
    You do beautiful work and I find it all meaningful. I’ve never done ATC work before but now will and you are the one who has inspired me to go forth! Thank you!

  2. Two beautiful intensely thought provoking ATC’s Keron, made me think back to many decisions & whether I made the right ones. Hope the days that follow are better ones for you & I love the new header! Have been admiring all these wonderful blog headers laately & haven’t a clue how to do that so I sure hope you post a tutorial 🙂

  3. The header is wonderful…and the art touched me somewhere deep inside…being a mother to older children now…and there are times I wonder “if”…if I had more time, if I had said yes, if I had said no…and I wonder did I listen enough…hold them enough…so yes I believe your art pieces speak of my inner thoughts…thanks

  4. Your art has captured exactly what I am feeling this week/weekend. Things have been very difficult here too. I hope things improve for both of us. Thank you for sharing your art and your feelings.
    -shari schneider
    P.S. I love the new look!! Now will you teach me?

Leave a Reply

