Opportunity Knocks

Standard

Only_love_web_1These are some Artist Trading Cards I began for a Valentine’s Day post, but didn’t get the chance to finish.  The one with the couple, titled, ‘Only Love’ is a ‘recycled’ old cabinet card from my art friend in the US – Suze.  (she has spoilt me lately with a big stash of old pics & cards) The other is some of Julie Van Oosten’s Collection’s vintage photographs on Cosmo Cricket paper called ‘Love Letters’ which is what I titled this ATC.  The embellishments on these ATC’s started out life as some very ugly bright pink earrings I found when I was fossicking at a local Opportunity Shop (Op Shop; Thrift shop).  Sometimes you have to look past the appearance in front Love_letter_web_1of you & look at the basic form of what you are looking at. The ‘broken’ heart, I painted & rusted.  The other pink heart, I separated from the round ‘boubbly’ bits that were obscuring it’s potential & then beautified the heart with my favourite Basic Grey rub ons in white.  I did rub over it with some Tim Holtz distressing ink to soften it a little, but it was too shiny & it didn’t take to well.

One response »

  1. Wow, Keron, you’ve already created something beautiful from the old photos. I’m so happy to be able to get them to you.
    {{hugs}} Suze

Leave a Reply

