Smooth Leaves

Standard

Leaves_on_smooth_300gsm_web I experimented last night with smooth watercolour paper.  Everything I have done to date has been on 300gsm (thick) ‘rough’ paper (you can get watercolour paper in smooth, medium & rough)…….I really didn’t like it much at all & I decided that a lot of my success with my pears was due to the paper & the inherent textural look that is achieved by the ‘tooth’ (the grain or texture) in the paper.  I guess that now I should give medium a go, just so that I understand the difference, however, I need all the help I can get & the rough helps me to achieve the little ‘lumps & bumps’ that make things look real.

I apologize to all my loyal collage followers………..I am a bit hooked on watercolours right now but I don’t want you to feel totally out of the loop, so I will continue to post work I have already done so that you don’t feel left out.  This is one of the book marks I made for my staff at the beginning of the 2006 work year.  It has Nelson Mandella’s inaugural speech on it.  This is one of my favourite & most inspiring pieces of writing.  Here is the text for anyone who has not read it before.

Bookmark_front_low_resBookmark_back_low_resOur deepest fear is not
that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are
Powerful beyond measure.

It is our light, not our darkness,
that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves,
who am I to be brilliant
gorgeous, talented, fabulous?
Actually, who are you not to be?

YOU are a child of God
Your playing small
doesn’t serve the world.
There’s nothing enlightened about
shrinking so that other people
won’t feel insecure around you.

We are all meant to shine,
as children do.
We were born to make manifest
the glory of God that is within us,
It’s in everyone.

Mandella_in_prision_1

And as we let our own light shine,
we unconsciously give other
people permission to do the same.
As we’re liberated from our own fear,
our presence automatically
liberates others. 

ps I only have recieved ONE entry to the Feb. challenge………we are half way through the month, so get your roller skates on……..

I am not meaning to alienate anyone by mentioning God or this speach on my blog, however unlike most places where I share art, on my own blog, I can express my own beliefs & aspirations.  Everyone is so careful to remain politically correct.  God is an integral part of who I am as a person, & I believe my creativity springs from having been created in His image, the originator of Creation itself.  I wonder if God does housework?

2 responses »

  1. I have been captivated with your inspiration, sincerity, and creativity! You can see how far back I am in your blog!:) Thanks for sharing this beautiful writing of Nelson Mandela. I need to use it in a collage! May you contine to follow your passion and know that you are so very appreciated.
    Treet

  2. I have been captivated with your inspiration, sincerity, and creativity! You can see how far back I am in your blog!:) Thanks for sharing this beautiful writing of Nelson Mandela. I need to use it in a collage! May you contine to follow your passion and know that you are so very appreciated.
    Treet

Leave a Reply

