10. HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT FAILING?

Standard

There is SOOOOOOOOOO much baggage tied up in this for me that I could keep both Oprah & Dr Phil busy for the rest of their lives….. LOL!!!….. sufficient to say this is an area of challenge for me having been valued for what I did rather than who I was from my family of origin………. BOOO HOOOOO I say…..get on with life……….every now & then this ugly dragon rears it’s ugly head when I am arting…….It takes a huge amount of energy to protect ourselves from failing & shielding ourselves from experiences & imagined threats of failure.   When you give yourself permission to fail, mistakes become an important part of the creative process.  Remember……every artist was first an amateur. (Ralph Waldo Emerson(1803 – 1882), Letters and Social Aims: Progress of Culture, 1876)

I am telling myself this as I continue to try and turn spheres into apples!!!

Every day you may make progress. Every step may be fruitful. Yet there will stretch out before you an ever-lengthening, ever-ascending, ever-improving path. You know you will never get to the end of the journey. But this, so far from discouraging, only adds to the joy and glory of the climb. (Sir Winston Churchill (1874 – 1965)   Hmmmmmm………not feeling very joyful or glorious right now……….but, I think that I am making some progress……………my recent Apple Harvest below.

Red_apple_1_webGreen_apple_1_webGreen_apple_2_web Cut_apple_web_1

What scares you about art?

Leave a Reply

